Skip to content

Whip Mix Blog

Regulatory Tip: New Regulations for Dental Labs Conducting Business in Kentucky

know (2) resized 600Effective June 18th, 2014, The Kentucky Board of Dentistry is requiring all dental laboratories doing business in Kentucky to register with the Kentucky Board of Dentistry. In addition, all Kentucky dentists are required to only use the services of a commercial dental laboratory registered with the Kentucky Board of Dentistry.

Here is what you need to know in order to receive your registration:

  • The dental laboratory must be operated under the¬†supervision of at least one (1) certified dental technician (CDT) or dentist licensed in Kentucky.
  • Provide the name and CDT number of the supervising CDT or the name of the supervising dentist who is licensed in Kentucky.
  • Provide a statement that indicates the laboratory meets all the infectious disease control requirements under OSHA and the CDC.
  • Acknowledgment by the supervising CDT or dentist that the laboratory will provide material disclosure to the prescribing dentist that contains FDA registration number of all patient contact materials contained in the prescribed restoration.
  • Acknowledgment by the supervising CDT or dentist that he or she will disclose to the prescribing dentist the point of origin of the manufacture of the prescribed restoration.

All laboratories are required to fill out a new registration form and will be issued a new registration number. Registration is $150 and is required to be paid before July 31, 2014. Once a dental laboratory receives its registration number, they are required to include the number on all invoices or other laboratory correspondence. Dentists are required to include the registration number of the dental lab on their work order.

To read the full statute, visit or download the application for Registration of Dental Laboratories. For questions regarding registration, please contact David Beyer, Executive Director, Board of Dentistry at (502) 429-7280 or email:

Note: If you are a Kentucky dental lab and have dropped your certification with the National Board for Certification (NBC) within the past 5 years, you will be able to renew your certification upon showing proof of the required continuing education units for the renewal year. These units are available by taking the free webinar courses at You need 12 CE hours, including 1-hour of regulatory standard credit.

Sarah Brom-Criscola

Sarah Brom-Criscola is a Sr. Marketing Specialist where she oversees digital and content marketing. She earned her Bachelors Degree in Marketing from Eastern Kentucky University and MBA from Bellarmine University.